Drivetrain Questions and info regarding transmissions, clutches, etc.

AT Torque Converters

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-06-2003, 12:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AT Torque Converters

Recently there's been quite a bit of discussion on how to power brake or power launch the auto trans G35. Other posts have addressed the relative advantages of a high performance torque converters.

While I'm not an TC expert, I do have a reasonable understanding of how they work and how a high performance unit differs from our stock torque converters. Please feel free to add your comments.

Modern torque converters (TC) are fluid couplings that also act as torque multipliers during initial acceleration.

Torque converters are comprised of four major components. A cover, turbine, stator/sprag, and impeller pump.

What we see when looking at a torque converter is an external housing which is comprised of the cover and impeller that are welded together. The cover is bolted to the engine's flex plate. The impeller is located on the transmission side of the TC housing's weld line. The TC's snout fits through the front seal and inside the transmission. It fits over, but is not connected to, the transmission’s input shaft. When the engine rotates the TC's housing (cover/impeller) turn at the same speed as the engine.

Inside the TC's housing are the two other major components. The turbine and stator/sprag assemblies.

The turbine is splined to the transmission's input shaft. When the TC’s turbine moves the transmission's output shaft moves and, if the rest of the drive train is complete, the vehicle moves.