Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

5/16" Iso Thermal Plenum Spacer Installed, Impressions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-08-2010, 12:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5/16" Iso Thermal Plenum Spacer Installed, Impressions

This morning I installed a 5/16" Motordyne Iso thermal plenum spacer kit on my 2006 6mt. I've never done anything close to this before as all my mods on previous cars have been basic things like an air intake or car stereo, so I was a bit nervous to take this on. Especially knowing that if I f'd it up I'd be without a car tomorrow. But thanks to all the great info on this forum and a couple youtube videos of people doing the install, I felt very confident I could tackle this in a couple hours (in time for the superbowl!!!).

Honestly the hardest part of the project was when I dropped my 10mm socket down in the front of the engine bay before I even started After using my neighbors magnet to retrieve it the rest was very straight forward and I got it all done in just over 2.5 hours. My earlier clumsiness made me VERY cautious through the rest of the install. This was also my first time using a torque wrench and I found it to be very straightforward and it worked great. I'm not sure how people can break the head bolts on this unless they are just retarded, or ignore motordyne's instructions.

So was it worth the money??? YES!!!! Only thing I wish I had done at the same time as this was install an intake, but I'm planning on doing a Vortech in a couple months so i'm holding off on that.

Thanks to all you who put info on the forum for this install, it made it a breeze. For those considering doing it I would highly recommend it, but I am not sure if you really need to do more than just the spacer by itself.