Forced Induction Discussion of turbos , superchargers , and nitrous upgrades on the G35

Header design for Supercharged applications?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-20-2005, 04:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Header design for Supercharged applications?

Well, I know there is a wide variety of headers available, but I wonder if the R&D was done based on NA approach and not thinking ahead about a supercharged app...

For example: On mu buddys integra, we made decent power with the jackson SC and a DC Sports header. He swapped to a Kamikaze header and made immediate power (8-9 hp consistent in 4 pulls).

So, this is on my mind. I wonder if the stillen, alpha, nismo, dc sports etc are all designed to make power with NA, but not with SC. I wonder if the crawordz is any different?

Is there a SC specific header I am not aware of. I am new to the 'G' world. I bought mine last week and spent a lot of time surfing.

What are the SC'd veterans running for header. I assume anything is better than stock, but there must be one that responds better to SC, I am guessing!

Thanks in advance! I hope to learn a lot from all you knowledgable people!

Old 08-21-2005, 05:24 PM
Banned
With how hard it is to put on headers on this car . I dont think any one has swapped headers just to find the best flowing with a SC . Im running BRM headers...a Nismo knock off . They must flow good enough as I was only able to get less than 7psi out of the stock Vortech Kit . Crawford makes some nice headers . They are longer pipes [ 25 inch ] most are 23 inch , and Crawfords bolt up right to the stock exhaust

Old 08-21-2005, 10:25 PM
Without a doubt any longtube headers such as Xerd. No cats + longer runners + equal length = power. You have a 2003.5 so your car won't throw codes without cats so you are good there. If you are in CA then it's a no-no. I live in FL so don't tell the EPA but I run test pipes. This should give nice gains on a supercharged car.