The G-Spot General discussion about the G Series;
G35 & G37, Coupes & Sedans

Shifting Techniques Anyone?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-07-2006, 12:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shifting Techniques Anyone?

I'm a Newbie here (From the NYC area) in fact this is my first post i just purchased a used coupe 04 6 sp and goes without saying that i loves this car the previous owner did some customizations that i'm not too mad at anyways i'm also new at driving manual cars so what are your shift techniques if any especially when trying to leave someone at the line. i find that when i shift from 1st to 2nd i lose alto of momentum and the shift process seems rough as if i'm doing some thing wrong even if i completely sink the clutch. any info i consider good info i like to learn from other people's mistakes my baby is just too precious to do trial and error. lol

Old 06-07-2006, 01:27 PM
Well in order to get off the line you will need to bleed the clutch out with the gas steadily applied. It is the only way to minimize slip and maximize your launch. Good tires are key there.
As far as the shifting, it sounds like you are going pretty slow on the 1-2.
Power shifting is a technique to keep you rpms up while shifting. Basically you don't let off the gas while pushing in the clutch to shift. You have to be quick and conscious of what you are doing, so it will take practice to feel it out right. Be careful not to practice in traffic, or on a turn. You could fish the rear with inexperience. Once you get the hang of it and know the feel of your car it is easy. I wouldn't recommend doing it all the time, may have negative effects on you tranny down the road if done daily.

Old 06-07-2006, 01:30 PM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts