The G-Spot General discussion about the G Series;
G35 & G37, Coupes & Sedans

Acceleration Hesitation in 6MT...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-01-2007 | 11:53 AM
|
Acceleration Hesitation in 6MT...

So I have been reading another thread about acceleration hesitation, but that was for a 5AT. I currently have a 2005 6MT coupe that I am having issues with acceleration. Here's a description of my issue:

Background Info:

- 2005 6MT G Coupe
- Moving from a Stand Still
- 1st Gear
- Novice Manual Driver

The Possible Issue I am having:

I step on the accelerator, but I do not start moving until 2 seconds later. The engine just revs for a second or two and then I start to go. It gets up to 4000+ RPMs and then it jolts out. This happens in 2nd as well.

Is this normal or is this human error? I would not be surprised if this was my own fault since I'm a novice manual driver. I apologize if this is a very newbie mistake, but please correct me if it is. I feel like I can't safely accelerate from a stop if I see an opening in traffic.

Any input would be appreciated.

WIL

btw. the traction control light does not come on, so I know I'm not slipping. The damn car just revs like a beast and doesn't really move.

Old 05-01-2007 | 12:01 PM
i'm no mechanic but by the sounds of it, it sounds like your clutch is giving out. how many miles do you have on the car? do you drive it hard? were you new to stick driving when you purchased the vehicle? was the vehicle used?

OR

it could be driver error...

either way something is going on there that isn't normal. if all else fails take it to the dealership.

Old 05-01-2007 | 12:09 PM
|
I think I'm going to take it to the dealership. Its still under warranty. It has 30,800 miles on it. I also have grinding issues when shifting into 5th gear.

I purchased it used from a used car dealership about a month ago.

I assume the dealership will not cover this if its the clutch correct?

Old 05-01-2007 | 02:18 PM