G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

seeking advice for picking a paint shop (to do side sills)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-07-2008, 11:01 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
seeking advice for picking a paint shop (to do side sills)

Some of you know that I'm new to modding, so I've been researching the topic of getting my side sills (and rear bumper) painted to match my car. ttrank discusses this in his handy !!Look here before starting a new thread!! 2003-2006 Sedan FAQ's thread.

Here's the gist:
Can the side sills be successfully painted?
  • ...they can be painted, but some paint shops will say no and others say yes.
  • With the proper prep and right paint/flex agent/clear they can be painted to match.
  • Many members have done it.
Due to time constraints, I'm trying to find local paint shops that can do a good job with this project. Others on this forum have warned against blindly choosing a shop merely based on price because often times you get what you pay for.

So, are there certain types of questions can I ask that will help me differentiate the "quality" paint shops from the rest of them?

For eg, what do you think of these questions:
1) Will you be using paint adhesion promoter?
2) How many coats of paint will be applied? (What is the minimum?)
3) How many coats of clear will be applied? (What is the minimum?)
4) How long do you warranty your paint job (aside from normal wear and tear)?

On second thought, is it insulting (or bad etiquette) to ask the above questions?

Oh, lastly, I also plan to check out pictures of their past work if such pics are available.

Thanks for making it this far down my long winded post. Please let me know your thoughts.

Old 04-08-2008, 12:42 AM
Received 72 Likes on 51 Posts