G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Newb need help in deciding - G35x or G35 with LSD

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-22-2008, 02:24 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newb need help in deciding - G35x or G35 with LSD

Hi,
I am a newb, and trying to decide between getting either a G35x or G35 with the LSD (and automatic). Would the LSD be sufficient (along with traction control) for traction? I live in the Pacific Northwest, where constant rain is an issue, along with light snow for 1 week/year.

Old 12-22-2008, 04:31 AM
I can only speak for the X, but I live near Boston and have been getting snow/ice dumped on me for the last week or so and some HEAVY rains the week before that. The X has been solid as a rock through it all. I have to try and push it to make it slip/skid.

My advice would be to wait until you get some rain in your area and then go test drive both! You might scare the sh*t out of the salesman though.

Old 12-22-2008, 04:45 AM
Received 240 Likes on 196 Posts
The stock VLSD sucks. It sounds nice in the parts list, but I'd rather get a real 1.5 or 2 way LSD over a viscous LSD.

Old 12-22-2008, 07:59 AM
Received 468 Likes on 391 Posts
If you are concerned with traction in bad weather, AWD is the way to go.

an LSD is good, but isn't as good as all 4 wheels pushing.

We just had a good size snowstorm and i was out all weekend in my g35x and could go anywhere at will with it. I don't even have snow tires, just crappy Eagle RS-A all-seasons, and i have very little wheel spin and was climbing snow-covered roads up steep hills with ease

Old 12-22-2008, 09:51 AM