Intake & Exhaust Questions and info regarding various aftermatket exhaust systems for the G35 (Headers,Y-Pipes, and Cat-Back Systems)

Is A welded exhaust bad?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-14-2019, 03:01 AM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Is A welded exhaust bad?

so I’m new to the car scene and I had purchased a Z1 single exit Exhaust exit that comes with the straight pipe/mid pipe with muffler only along with a manzo Y pipe For My SEDAN..I took it to a muffler shop to get in installed and as soon as it was done they had told me that they had to Cut of the two tips of the of y pipe and weld it to the stock cats due to my cats being super rusty.Along with the z1 single exit welded to a piece of steel to the y pipe due to The mid pipe not reaching the y pipe.They also welded where the muffler goes due it being too short (exhaust was meant for a 350z) so they welded another piece of metal to extended the muffler tip out to clear it.Anyways very hard to explain but now essentially my whole exhaust set up is welded and wanted to know if that’s a bad thing? Car still sound bad *** though but I currently have a leak on my y pipe’s flex pipe because of scraping lol HERE IS THE SOUND CLIP

Last edited by Ichiglo_; 01-14-2019 at 03:22 AM.
Old 01-14-2019, 04:22 AM
Received 369 Likes on 337 Posts
Nope. Thats what muffler shops do!

Old 01-14-2019, 04:31 AM
Originally Posted by Scorpi0
Nope. Thats what muffler shops do!
cool just asking because I went to a tuning/suspension shop and they kinda looked down on it like if it was a bad thing to have an exhaust setup welded

Old 01-14-2019, 08:33 AM
I drove ttrank's car solo

Received 1,486 Likes on 1,221 Posts
G35 sedan w/ too much money in mods