Takeda (AFE) Short Ram Intake – First Impressions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-15-2009, 04:12 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Takeda (AFE) Short Ram Intake – First Impressions

Well I finally broke down and ordered a Takeda Short Ram Intake and received it Friday. Now let me start off by saying I had a K&N SRI intakes before I got the AFE. (BTW these are for sale if anyone is interested send me a Private Message.) The reasons why I went with K&N are simple. They were cheaper than most of the other brands out there. It’s a name that I have trusted before, and have a decent reputation.

You may be wondering “Why did I buy the Takeda intakes”? The answer to this is because AFE (who is the manufacturer of Takeda) has always had better quality filters. I have used them on several of my previous vehicles and other family members as well. I have roughly 8 years of experience with them, and stand by them because of their quality. I have had the same filter in my Jeep Grand Cherokee with roughly 200,000 miles on it, and it is still in great shape. I have owned many other types of intakes/filters such as AEM, K&N, and Injen but the AFE has always been the best in my opinion. The first thing I did was kick myself for not waiting for the AFE’s. Unfortunately I had no idea they were planning on producing intakes for our vehicles.

Now on to the K&N. Let me tell you what a nightmare it is to install the heat shields for the K&N and get the brackets lined up perfect for them. It was a royal PITA that took me roughly 3 and half hours. (Not to mention I had to find a screw on the bottom of the splash shield that I had dropped). I have installed intakes on numerous vehicles before, but the K&N was just plain rough for the sheer fact I’m a perfectionist and the brackets that hold them in place use screws. I find this a pain because you may think you have everything tightened up but low and behold there are awkwardly placed nuts to tighten up.

The Takeda Install: