DIY: Painting the lower sills on an 03/04 sedan

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 11-04-2007, 09:30 PM
Received 72 Likes on 51 Posts
DIY: Painting the lower sills on an 03/04 sedan

I know most people won’t be doing their own painting of the sills, but I thought it might be useful to some that have access to the equipment or are just curious about the automotive painting process and what it takes to paint plastic parts. First off, let me say I’m a total amateur and this is the first thing I’ve ever painted on a car with a spray gun. Everything is fairly easy, but the plastic prep process takes a very long time (5+ hours). The painting takes a total of 10 minutes. I have the Aero bumper so I did not paint have to paint the front, but with this DIY, the process would be explanatory. I painted the lower sills, lower portions of the mud guards, and rear bumper which remained on the car for painting.

Equipment needed:

Air Compressor with at least 13 gallons - 1.5HP (my compressor is 26 gal./1.5 HP)
Inline water/oil separator for compressor (without the separator, you could get fisheyes in the paint from water condensate)
Spray gun – I used a $35 Husky siphon feed “detail” spray gun

10mm socket and ratchet
Various screwdrivers
Automotive clip removal tool ($5 from the auto parts store)
P-400 automotive scuff pads
Masking Tape
Plastic sheeting
Half-face respirator with organic vapor cartridges
Automotive soap
Cleaning pad
Isopropyl alcohol
Nitrile gloves
Paper towels
Tack cloth

Paint Supplies:

Graduated paint container
Can of adhesion promoter
Paint Hardener
Paint reducer
OEM factory paint – the factory paint is single stage. That means it have both a base color and clear built in. I used higher end PPG materials, about $100 total and I have a ton of paint left and I only bought a pint and that was amount smallest available.

Step 1- Removal of door kick plates