Koni vs Tokico

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-27-2009, 10:21 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Koni vs Tokico

Hi guys, I need your help please. I have already used the search feature and went through all the threads but I cant find any valuable information.

I am not sure why but on this forum when it comes to shocks, the popular choice/only choice is tokico Dspec. Koni, kyb, etc shocks are not considered.

My question is what are peoples thoughts/experiences with koni yellow and why does everyone on this forum choose tokico? I understand price is an issue but lets say it wasnt. From the articles I read (not from here) from so called "Experts", they seem to agree that the top 3 shocks are 1.Penske, 2. Belstein, 3. Koni. They call tokico and other japenese shocks "crap".

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Old 04-27-2009, 10:53 PM
Received 38 Likes on 35 Posts
I'm no expert, but I think it mainly comes down to price and adjustability. Bilstein and Koni are certainly very highly regarded, moreso for Euro cars, but the Konis are only adjustable for rebound and not compression, while the Bilsteins are not adjustable at all. Tokico D-specs are adjustable fro both compressiong & damping. Also, don't forget that Tokico is the OEM supplier of most G35 shocks, so for this application, they are considered a solid supplier.

I have used Tokicos on two prior Japanese cars (adjustables on a '86 Mazda RX-7, Blues on a '92 300ZX) and was very pleased with them - performed very well and were very durable.

Old 04-27-2009, 11:02 PM
Originally Posted by G35fromPA