Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Need help with new car...and railroad dust

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-16-2008, 08:35 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Need help with new car...and railroad dust

Hey guys,

Got a new 08 Gx in white in January. I gave it a couple hand washes already and have noticed hundreds of little speckles of what appears to be rust. Through researching the net, I figure this is railroad dust from the shipping of my car. I doubt it would be my breaks as this stuff is literally everywhere.

So I started picking them off one by one with a towel and my thumbnail but that is seriously going to take me weeks to do it all. More research tells me to claybar...

I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE IN DETAILING...I have never clayed a car, or polished, but waxed once on an old car and that turned out horrible (I realized i needed more steps before the wax).

Am I on the right track to "clay bar" my car? How should I go about it and what's a generic brand that will work for me (something I can buy at my car parts store) such as Meguiars, Mothers, Turtle wax, etc.? Is it safe to clay a new car? Do I HAVE to wax it after?

Any help or insight is muchos appreciated!!! Thanks!

Old 04-16-2008, 08:42 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
hey.....i had the same problem with my ip coupe after the winter, but it was only on the rear of my car.....i clayed my car with meguiars (may times on the rear).....then polished with meguiars and finally waxed with meguiars. almost everything came off, but i plan on doing all over again in about a month (thats why i only put on one layer of wax).....i never clayed before and i didnt jack anything up but i think its hard to on white

Old 04-17-2008, 01:43 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes claying is going to work. But when you clay. You need wax after. Remember claying remove any containment off the paint surface.

Old 04-17-2008, 01:00 PM
Any tips for claying?

How should I cut the bar?