Forced Induction Discussion of turbos , superchargers , and nitrous upgrades on the G35

Why are headers/race pipes bad for a Stillen Supercharger SC ?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-06-2007, 09:12 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Why are headers/race pipes bad for a Stillen Supercharger SC ?

Was just doing some light reading on the install for the Stillen SC to see if it was possible for a DIY install.

I did notice however that under the "Care/Maintenance" page they state that headers or racepipes adversely affect the supercharger.

I'm no expert on fluid dynamics but I would assume that extra exhaust gases on an engine putting out more power than in the stock form should require more expulsion of waste or spent air. If you widen the diameter of piping or shorten it then you would decrease resistance and allow faster velocity of the fluid out (in this cas exhaust fumes) so that you could push in new clean (oxygen) air and redetonate.

Why would they want you to avoid this?

Old 06-07-2007, 02:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
they say that for the roots blower to opperate most effectively it needs backpressure. Hence they say that racepipes and headers arnt a good idea.

Old 06-07-2007, 07:59 AM
Former G35driver Vendor
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
i really wish that the stillen would put out more power, that is the nicest aftermarket kit you can buy. the craftmanship is untouchable.

or at least if they made it safe with stock exhaust and when you opened it up, it would make a lot more power??

Old 06-07-2007, 09:42 AM
Originally Posted by Audible Mayhem
i really wish that the stillen would put out more power, that is the nicest aftermarket kit you can buy. the craftmanship is untouchable.

Yup...but the only problem is you need the fugly hood...

Old 06-07-2007, 12:01 PM