The G-Spot General discussion about the G Series;
G35 & G37, Coupes & Sedans

Storage

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-29-2016, 02:21 PM
Received 54 Likes on 50 Posts
Storage

Hey fellow G enthusiasts, turns out I'll be in Europe for about 4.5 months and have to store my car under a carport (albeit a nice one.)
This is my first time leaving a car alone for that long, besides a good detail and covering it, what else should I do?

I've heard that tires will develop flat spots, but others also said that they'll go away in about 1/4 mile of driving. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance for all the input, I've never had to leave a car for this long before.

Old 12-29-2016, 05:57 PM
I drove ttrank's car solo

Received 1,486 Likes on 1,221 Posts
G35 sedan w/ too much money in mods
Drain gas (or use a fuel stabilizer if draining not's possible)
Use battery tender
Raise car on jack stands
Remove tires/wheels
Store tires/wheels on their side w/o stacking if possible

And if it were me I'd replace all fluids when you get back. Probably not necessary but it would make me very comfortable to know she's going back into driving all clean and new.

Old 12-29-2016, 06:53 PM
Originally Posted by Blue Dream
Use battery tender
Raise car on jack stands
Remove tires/wheels

And if it were me I'd replace all fluids when you get back. Probably not necessary but it would make me very comfortable to know she's going back into driving all clean and new.
Thanks for the info, I was planning on having one of my parents maybe take it out and drive it for the day every few weeks or so.

I had considered storing on jack stands. But doesn't that damage suspension components?

And in terms of fluid, I planned on changing everything upon my return anyways

Old 12-29-2016, 11:07 PM
Super Moderator

Received 1,018 Likes on 936 Posts
Originally Posted by Blue Dream
Use battery tender
Raise car on jack stands
Remove tires/wheels