NorthWest Serving AK, ID, OR, WA

SEATTLE/TACOMA/RENTON area - what's it like?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-03-2007, 12:40 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
SEATTLE/TACOMA/RENTON area - what's it like?

I'm considering a career change. I'm currently a calibration technician with the MS Army National Guard (federal Civil Service). I've put in a couple of applications with the FAA to be an air traffic controller. The locations are Seattle, Sea-Tac, or Auburn. I'm also considering putting in a app for a different FAA job that is located in Renton.

I've looked on various websites about the stats and demographics of the areas, but I'd like some first-hand perspective of what it's like to live in that area. Some things I'd like to know:

- cost of living/housing market in general
- recreational activities - my wife and I are not outdoorsy types, so fishing/hunting is not our bag. She likes cultural type stuff, I love to downhill ski and, of course, I dig a good car enthusiast scene.
- attitude of the people in general - friendly, snobbish, open-minded, etc.
- traffic
- does it really stay cloudy most of the time? I find that to be kind of depressing.
- any unusual growth or decline of the population, businesses, etc.

Any other tidbits of info you could pass on to me would be great.

Thanks!

Old 07-03-2007, 01:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Regarding cost of living...

Info from Salary.com Assuming a salary of $35,000 and assuming you're coming from Jackson, MS

The cost of living in Seattle, WA is 43.5% higher than in Jackson, MS. Therefore, you would have to earn a salary of $50,232 to maintain your current standard of living

Employers in Seattle, WA typically pay 27.1% more than employers in Jackson, MS. Therefore, if you take the same type of job in the same type of company in Seattle, WA you are likely to earn $44,474.

Old 07-03-2007, 01:31 PM
Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts
Originally Posted by dTor