Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

Overheating Issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 07:06 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Overheating Issue

Hey guys. Im hoping that someone can help me diagnose a recent problem I just had and a possible fix. Just last night, i encountered what seems to be an overheating problem. First time this has occurred. My car was in idle for about 30 or so minutes (which I've never done before) waiting for a friend to come out. I drove to a nearby theater and parked, left the car on, and walked into purchase some tickets and came right out. I noticed why smoke coming from the passengers side and i walked around and see green fluid leaking onto the ground. I immediately turn the car off and pop the hood. Green fluid is kinda steaming/spurting out because of the temperature it looks like. I wait about 3 minutes and try and turn it on and it wouldn't start. So i waited about an hour to see if it'd turn on and it did, i guess after cooling off. So the movies was out of the question and so I drove back home and I could see the temperature needle rising and falling, rising and falling. It would stay at the last mark before 'H' then slowly go back down to the middle again and do this off and on. I checked the antifreeze bottle in the engine and it has antifreeze fluid in there but it's not filled up to the top. What do you guys think could be the problem. I plan on taking it to auto zone tomorrow but figured i would ask you owners and engine guys what it was. I'm located in Atlanta as well so, during the day the temperatures was around 70ish but at night it's around the 60's so not terribly. I know I'm at fault for leaving my car on for long periods of time like that, I should have cut it off cut I didn't think it would cause this problem. Could it be the temperature gauge malfunctioning? Thanks again guys.