G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Newbie here. Need advice

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-22-2012, 12:05 AM
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Cool Newbie here. Need advice

Hello all,

I have just switched from Passat to G35X.

My car is an 04 G35X Automatic with 76K on it.

Here is so far what I have done;

1) I have changed the oil with Castrol Edge Synt. I believe its among the best.

2) 4 rotors and brake pads. I chose Centric Premiums since they are practically R1 Concepts w/o drills right?

3) One of the wheel bearings with timken. most likely the right one. Any idea how to be sure about it? 2 different mecs say different things.

(2-3 will be applied by tomorrow)

4) Most importantly,

I have no record of any kind of oil change but I know the car was in Brooklyn for a while. Do you think if a dealer (probably the one in Brooklyn) pull up the records and tell me ?

5) What should I do with my tranny oil? I think its just a little bit jerky. I cant actually tell if its OK to jerk just a little? I can't really say anything since I switched from DSG tranny. Let's say when I either R or D when starts, I feel a tiny jerk. Also I can barely feel when the tranny shifts when I'm moving. Is it normal? Should I change my tranny oil ? Again no records of previous oil changes.

6) Diff oil? What should I do about it?

Thanks in advance.

Sorry to start with all kind of questions in once. I did a search on the forum but couldn't them all.

Old 08-22-2012, 01:58 AM
I drove ttrank's car solo

Received 1,487 Likes on 1,222 Posts
G35 sedan w/ too much money in mods
Originally Posted by Ultraslan-ny
Hello all,

I have just switched from Passat to G35X.

My car is an 04 G35X Automatic with 76K on it.

Here is so far what I have done;

1) I have changed the oil with Castrol Edge Synt. I believe its among the best. My favorite as well.