Ball joint stud spinning while trying to remove nut!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-13-2013, 11:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Ball joint stud spinning while trying to remove nut!

The dealer told me my compression rods need to be changed. So I decided to save hundreds of dollars and just change the bushings by removing the compression rods. This is my first time working on suspension and this issue has got me frustrated to the point of almost tapping out and hiring a mechanic to come to my garage. And quitting is not in my nature..

I have the car on all 4 jack stands. Front passenger wheel removed, caliper, caliper brackets, rotor... removed. I started by removing the cotter pin from the compression rod ball joint stud which would not budge and I ended up having to drill it out... Then I felt great for about a minute and did not expect what was about to come.. I used my new impact gun on the ball joint nut and it just spins the ball joint stud in its socket..

Is there a proven way to do this? I have even tried jacking up the knuckle/LCA and even jacking directly on the bolt and using an open ended wrench but it just kept spinning the stud... it doesn't take much force to spin this stud..

My car has been up on stands for days now.. this problem has me stumped. I have heard of using a picklefork? Will it even fit in the small area we have to work with?

Note: the underbrace is still connected to the vehicle and not removed. The bushing side of the compression rod has not been removed yet.

I feel like I have sprayed half a bottle of PB blaster on the stud/nut. I have even used a torch to heat up the nut a couple times.

Last edited by a_bains; 03-13-2013 at 11:49 PM.
Old 03-13-2013, 11:30 PM
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts