G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

5AT Grounding kit question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-02-2011, 09:03 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5AT Grounding kit question

Ok, Looking around I have seen lots of people saying that the grounding kits help with some of the quirkiness of the 5AT transmission. My question is, do you really need the whole kit or would the one wire strung the to the tranny do the same thing. Forgive me if this is stupid. I am a noob electrician

Old 01-02-2011, 09:23 AM
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by SpForces
Ok, Looking around I have seen lots of people saying that the grounding kits help with some of the quirkiness of the 5AT transmission. My question is, do you really need the whole kit or would the one wire strung the to the tranny do the same thing. Forgive me if this is stupid. I am a noob electrician
Grounding kits = snake oil, don't bother!

Old 01-02-2011, 09:57 AM
Received 468 Likes on 391 Posts
I've always added 1 supplemental ground wire to engine to my cars. Since this is the first auto, I would also add one to the trans.

Ground kits add multiple wires. I just do 1 or 2 and make it myself for a couple bucks. I used to be an electrician....so I have wire and crimps and the tool kicking around

Old 01-02-2011, 10:27 AM
Received 576 Likes on 502 Posts
What's the difference between just 1-2 wires vs. 10 wires? I ordered a kit and it comes w/ 10 wires. 1-2 would do the job?

Old 01-02-2011, 11:23 AM
Received 161 Likes on 122 Posts
Originally Posted by liljohnny
Based on first-hand personal experience?

Old 01-02-2011, 01:16 PM
Originally Posted by bluedevils95
What's the difference between just 1-2 wires vs. 10 wires? I ordered a kit and it comes w/ 10 wires. 1-2 would do the job?