G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

G35 sedan overheat

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2022, 10:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
G35 Sedan
G35 sedan overheat

Okay so this is my first time being on a forum so bear with me if I do something wrong. About 2 months ago I picked up a 2004 g35 sedan, the guy drove the car to us and we test drove it with no issues. Checked for leaks and flaws and saw nothing.
the minute we got this car on the parkway it started to overheat. I needed to drive it half an hour home so I poured out the reservoir and kept going, with the temp balancing out.
eventually, the reservoir filled back up to the top and would overheat and boil. This process happened a few times. Where I would either empty a little fluid out, bleed the car, or just let it sit.
Finally after changing the thermostat and bleeding AGAIN, no change. Took it to my mechanic. He said he just bled it but it was a nightmare and took him an hour. But after he drove it for 25 minutes, no issues. I got the car. Drove it for about 45 minutes to an hour... overheat but not much just a tad over normal temp
driving home from work today it finally overheat all the way back up to the top line. I have no idea how it could be getting air in the system, but if anyone has any idea what could possibly be the problem, please let me know. I'm dying over this.

My mechanic letting me know shes good

45 minutes after mechanic

Overheat after driving from work [auxiliary mode dont mind the other lights]

Old 04-21-2022, 10:32 AM
Super Moderator

Received 1,031 Likes on 948 Posts
These cars can be very temperamental to bleed air out of, consider asking your mechanic if he used a no-spill funnel and bled air out of the rear bleed point near the firewall by the battery. It’s a very difficult car to bleed correctly.

Old 04-21-2022, 10:54 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sedan